Location: South West (Macarthur District)
With beautiful historic buildings, tranquil atmosphere and lush country views, Cobbitty is nestled on the Nepean River and is a low density residential, picturesque village. Surrounded by farmland, it is the location of an agricultural branch of Sydney University. Cobbitty is well worth a visit if you are in the Macarthur district.
The village has a general store and tearooms, cafe and art and craft gallery, a rural fire station and scout hall. There are more houses along Cobbitty Road and a number of smaller acreages throughout the area. Cobbitty is home to turf farms and orchards, and there is an equestrian club, pony club and horse breeding and breaking centres. So far the area has resisted attempts at further urban development and is not part of the designated south west growth area.
At the southern end of the village, bordering the Nepean River is Camden Airport, a site for gliding and skydiving. Cobbitty has a winery, Cobbitty Wines . Settlement began in the early 19th century following the establishment of John Macarthur s Camden Park Estate nearby. Many of the workers at Camden Park lived here.
Click on or tap an attraction to read the description. Click or tap again to hide the description.
The Reverend Thomas Hassall, the first chaplain of the Cowpastures, built Heber Chapel in 1827. Heber was dedicated in 1828 by Rev. Hassall the Galloping Parson and his father-in-law the Reverend Samuel Marsden. It is named after Bishop Heber of Calcutta whose Diocese encompassed Australia. The architect is unknown. The Chapel contains the original chancel niche and cedar joinery.
The foundation stone for St. Paul s Church was laid in 1840 and the Church was completed in 1842. The Church is built of stone and was designed by Colonial Architect John Verge and John Bibb. It is of a cruciform plan with a tower and stone spire. The Chapel and Church are situated in a peaceful and picturesque setting with a mixture of trees and stone monuments in the Churchyard. The Rectory was built in 1870, the Architect being G.A. Mansfield. It is a two-storeyed stone building with a steeply pitched slate roof in which dormer windows are set. The inside joinery is cedar. The small verandah on the northeast side was added in 1882.
Camden Airport was first developed by the Macarthur-Onslow family in the late 1930 s on Macquarie Grove, which they had acquired and which covers an area of approximately 195 hectares. The hangar they erected still stands today. During World War II the government purchased the site and it became the home of the Central Flying School. After the war the Department of Civil Aviation assumed ownership and the airport was converted to civil operations. In 1998 Camden Airport Limited assumed the management and operations from the Federal Airports Corporation. Today the airport is used for light aircraft flying training, private flying, sports aviation, gliding and ballooning.
In 1964 Johnny and Dino Cogno, better known as the Cogno brothers, established a winery along the banks of the Nepean River. The winery is still in full operation and attracts many visitors to the area. Anyone who has travelled around Italy, come across a little family owned winery and dropped in to savour what s on offer will know exactly what it s like visiting Cobbitty Wines. The wines made here are not the kind that dominate the red wine sections of your local liquor shop. They do have chardonnay, shiraz and cabinet sauvignon blends, but the Cogno s strength is their traditional Italian wine making.
The Cogno Brothers most famous drop is their legendary Lambrusco. It s a classic spritzy light red, an excellent accompaniment to a pizza or a pasta salad on a warm summer s day. You can also buy white and red ports, vermouth, coffee marsala, ozato, muscat, sherry and lots more. The range is extensive and everything is ridiculously cheap for the quality of the product. It s easy to justify a drive out to Cobbitty just try the wine and come home with a few cases of Italy in the boot. The winery is at the end of Cobbitty Road, just before Werombi Road. Open 7 days a week. Monday Saturday, 9.30am 5.30pm and Sundays 11.00am 5.00pm.
Run by volunteers, this is a craft market, with our stallholders selling a wide range of unusual and interesting hand-made goods, gifts and wares. These include ceramics, woodwork, paintings and frames, clothes and jewellery, unique furniture, gorgeous knick-knacks and trinkets, lovingly made soaps and body products, toys for the littlies, and a whole lot more. There is always something perfect for that special gift, important occasion, or just to spoil yourself, friends or family. Stalls there also sell a selection of gourmet fresh, baked, and carefully prepared foods and produce. There are flowers, plants and seedlings as well.
Location: Cobbitty School Grounds, Cobbitty Rd, Cobbitty
Trading: Every 1st Saturday of the Month (except Jan and Feb) 8am 1pm
Type: Art & Craft, Baby & Kids/Children, General, Produce, Handmade, Food
Phone: 0438 512 728
The area known as the Cowpastures, preserve of the wild cattle from the First Fleet, brought the area to the attention of European settlers. Settlement on the west of the Nepean River was prohibited, with the exception of the Macarthur and Davidson grants, but it was not long before grants were taken up in the lush pastures on the eastern side. Governor Macquarie had named the area Cobbedee, and when Gregory Blaxland was given a grant here in 1812 he called it Cubbady Farm. The larger grants in the area were Wivenhoe (1812) to Reverend William Cowper, Macquarie Grove (1812) to Reverend Rowland Hassall, which passed to his son Samuel Hassall, Denbigh (1815) to Charles Hook and acquired in 1827 by Reverend Thomas Hassall, and Matavai to James Hassall. There were several smaller grants along the banks of the Nepean.
By 1840 the foundation stone of St. Paul s Anglican Church had been laid and was completed in 1842. Heber Chapel was used as a schoolhouse during the week with a schoolmaster s residence attached. The schoolmaster was John Armstrong. The present Cobbitty Public School was established in 1882, and as well as providing education to the children of the area has established a fine reputation for the local market it holds once a month.
By the early 1880's most farmers in the area were farming dairy cattle and in 1889 the Cobbitty United Dairy Company was formed and their butter factory built at Cobbitty. Cobbitty was made part of Camden Municipality when it was formed in 1889 and is in North Ward. In 1896 the Cobbitty Cricket Club came into being and their first ground was on private land near St. Paul s Church. The club has been keenly patronized over the years and is still going strong, having incorporated with the growing area to become Cobbitty Narellan Cricket Club in 1997.
The University of Sydney relocated the Plant Breeding Institute to Cobbitty in 1991 on the properties known as Karalee and Hilder which it had purchased in 1982 and 1985 respectively. The site contains the Cereal Rust Laboratory and facilities for the study of cereal genetics and breeding. The Institute is also involved in a broad spectrum of horticultural research, breeding and education. Also on the site is the Animal Reproduction Unit in collaboration with the faculty of Veterinary Science.